Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed

How to hide/exclude duplicate IDs except for the first ID?

hyunseolee120

New Contributor

Oct 6, 2016

Hello awesome people,

I am new to JMP and needs some help with cleaning the data set.

I have several duplicates in my data set, where one individual is admitted multiple times in a given period.

I want only the first episode of the individual, according to the admission date (m/d/yyyy)

For instance,

Respondent with an ID number ABC11 appeared twice in my data set. The respondent was admitted to the treatment  in 7.14.2013 and then readmitted in 8.25.2014. I want to keep only the information of ABC11 in 7.14.2013)

Thanks to previous discussions, I figured how to remove the duplicates joining the table, matching the columns, and dropping duplicates. ​This way, I create a new data file with Unique client sample (n=4,000)  without the duplicates from the original file with total admitted sample (n=6000)

However, now I want to hide/exclude those duplicates and leave them in the same data file,

so that I can flexibly compare and contrast Total Admitted sample (n=6000, with duplicates) and Unique client sample (n=4000, without duplicates) in later analysis.

Unless, I'll have to run analysis separately and combine the result in data reports, sounds like a hassle.

Blessings,

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solution

Sorry, I was too quick to answer. The Date column should not be a grouping variable in this case.

Sort by date and try this:

dt << select where(Col Min(Row(), :ID) < Row()) << hide and exclude;

6 REPLIES
ms

Super User

Jun 23, 2011

With JSL:

// Exclude all but first row of multiples (sort by date to get the earliest...)

dt = Current Data Table();

dt << select where(Col Min(Row(), :Respondent, :Date) < Row()) << hide and exclude;

Same approach with column formula:

dt<<new column("exclude", Row State, Formula(ExcludedState(Col Min(Row(), :Respondent, :Date) < Row())))

hyunseolee120

New Contributor