Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed

How do I select data from a column between two empty rows in JMP?

Hi Guys,

I am trying to select data from a column between two empty rows and paste it another row.(i.e. transpose it). Here is what I have:
----------------------------
Column 1
(empty row)
(empty row)
(empty row)
(empty row)
(empty row)
(empty row)
(empty row)
(empty row)
---------------------

The number of data points between two sets of empty rows is variable. So here is the output I would like to have:
ROW1: 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
ROW2: 3 4 5
ROW3: 34 6 7 8

I am a newbie and any help is appreciated.
Thanks.
5 REPLIES
Anybody?
Jeff_Perkinson

Community Manager

Jun 23, 2011

Hi there,

Thanks for showing both what you have and what you want. That helps to figure out how to do it.

I started by creating a new column with a formula that would show which column that row should end up in in a new table.

Here's the formula for that new column:

If( Is Missing( :Column 1 ),
If( Is Missing( Lag( :Column 1, 1 ) ),
Lag( :Column 2, 1 ) + 1
)
)

Here's the table that results:

Column 1 Column 2
(empty row)
(empty row)
3 1
4 2
5 3
6 4
7 5
8 6
9 7
(empty row)
(empty row)
3 1
4 2
5 3
(empty row)
(empty row)
34 1
6 2
7 3
8 4
(empty row)
(empty row)

Now, with this table you can use the Tables->Split command to create the table that you want.

Use Column 1 as the Split Column and Column 2 as the Split By column. You'll end up with your second table.

Jeff Perkinson
JMP Product Manager
-Jeff
Jeff_Perkinson

Community Manager

Jun 23, 2011

Forum user mpb pointed out to me privately that my solution didn't actually work.

He's right. The groups of non-missing values don't end up in the same rows without a Grouping column.

So, you'll need another new column - call it Group - to identify groups of non-missing values. Here's a formula:

If(Row() == 1, 1, If(Is Missing(Lag(:Column 1, 1)) & !Is Missing(:Column 1), Lag(:Group, 1) + 1, Lag(:Group, 1)))