cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
mdawson69
Level IV

How do I place values into data table cells using JSL

I am relatively new to JSL, but I have been authoring several scripts to handle processes for generating tables and graphs for testing that a software product that we are producing is properly reporting results. One of the issues I am having now is that I have to create a graph that shows reported times (easy) but also reflects the residuals from the reporting time bin into future time bins.

For example, I need to make a wait time graph where the x-axis runs from midnight to midnight with discrete 15-minute time bins. I have a data set that reports wait times and I bin the time that the wait begins. For simplicity, I single out one row where a wait time of 90 minutes is reported for an agent that enters a location at 9:05 AM. The time bin for that wait time is 9:00 AM the 90 minute wait time is reported and shown in the graph in the 9:00 AM time bin. In a traditional graph, all other times would be zero, as all other data was excluded, but in reality, the graph should show what that agent's wait time is across several time bins until the wait time is zero; effectively, what is the minimum amount of time the next person entering the location can expect to wait if they arrive at the location behind the agent waiting during any time bin where the current agent is still queued.

So I need to create a matrix of all times with values of zero in the time bins except for those listed below.

Time Bin        Wait Time

9:00 AM          90 min

9:15 AM          80 min

9:30 AM          65 min

9:45 AM          50 min

10:00 AM        35 min

10:15 AM        20 min

10:30 AM        5 min