cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
jwhiting
Level I

How do I choose between a Wilcoxon, Wilcoxon Signed Rank, or t-test with matched observations?

I'm new to JMP, and trying to determine which test is appropriate for my study. I have matched biological measurements at two time points (before and after a meal) for 25 individual donors. Each donor has a single data point per time point. The population has a large standard deviation for most of these measurements, and usually the results do not have a normal distribution. Some observations have a few outliers. I have attached a sample graph depicting my data.

Is it appropriate to analyze the data with a simple t-test or Wilcoxon test via the Fit Y by X menu? Or should I perform the analysis using the Specialized Modeling > Matched Pairs > Wilcoxon Signed Rank approach? The main question in this study is whether or not the biological measurement (ie, yield) changes after eating a meal. I'm not particularly interested in donor-specific responses, more the trend of the population as a whole. Any advice on which test to use, and how to execute that test in JMP, would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Jen

Yield, before and after a meal. Each dot represents one donor, line connecting donor yield before/after. Red lines indicate SDYield, before and after a meal. Each dot represents one donor, line connecting donor yield before/after. Red lines indicate SD

3 REPLIES 3
msharp
Super User (Alumni)

Re: How do I choose between a Wilcoxon, Wilcoxon Signed Rank, or t-test with matched observations?