BookmarkSubscribe
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
JoshE87
Occasional Contributor

How Do I Plug in Data and Have JMP Determine Relationships Between Factors and Responses

I'm still very new to JMP, but I've figured out (with help) how to have JMP show me polynomial responces between responces and factors. The issue is that I know from my own plots in excel that some factor/responses have polynomial relationships, some have exponential and still others have logarithmic realtionships. Sometimes, a single factor will influence several responces in two or more of these ways.

I do not understand how to have JMP determine which relationship the various factors and responses. It seems like I already have to know the relationships before I begin analyzing the data to have it be able to generate an accurate prediction. Is that the case? Also, I do not really know which factors compound on each other to create a larger response, and it seems like if I just plug all responses in to check, the system overloads and says that none (or a very large number of them that includes factor interactions that I know do matter to various responses) influence the responses, as shown below. 

JMP Many 0 Responces.PNG

Then I can delete several of the least likely interactions and suddenly the rest will snap to show significance. This is also shown below. 
JMP no 0 Responces.PNG

I'm confused as to how I can get JMP to tell me which ones matter, rather than me having to guess.