Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
JPoklic
Level I

Help with DOE

Hello,

i'm a novice user of JMP and need some help with DOE. I would like to construct a realtively simple DOE to optimize price of an alloy with combinations of 2 elements. My responses are: mechanical properties = Y1 (fdefined minimum value), price = Y2 (goal to minimize).
I have 2 continous factors X1 and X2 (chemical elements) with different prices and different effects on properties. I wan't to find optimal ratio between these elements. Optimal is that i still achieve minimum requirements for mechanical properties and minimize the cost. 

I have tried to make some response surface designs but a lot of them were not really useful. i already have some data from previous experiments and trials. 

Please give me some advice or at least point me into which direction to go to make a useful design. 

Best regards!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Victor_G
Super User

Re: Help with DOE

Hello @JPoklic,

Welcome in the Community ! 

To better understand your use case, here are some questions :

1. Are you interested only in the ratio between X1 and X2 ?
  2. Or is also the total quantity (or individual quantities for X1 and X2) worth to consider ?

If you're in situation 1, that means the total quantity is fixed (to a certain value or percentage like 100%), so you only have one independent factor to look at, which is the ratio between X1 and X2. You need to estimate what is the possible experimental range of this ratio to test, based on your domain expertise and preliminary results.