cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Submit your abstract to the call for content for Discovery Summit Americas by April 23. Selected abstracts will be presented at Discovery Summit, Oct. 21- 24.
Discovery is online this week, April 16 and 18. Join us for these exciting interactive sessions.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar

Graph Builder: Linear Y axis appears to be incorrect

Hello,

I am fairly new to JMP scripting and having a weird issue in the Graph Builder. I'm just trying to graph this data on linear X and Y axes. The average of the data (I can't post it, but it is fairly noisy; I am using the smoother for this reason) is 0.06 GPM (calculated using the Mean function further up in the script), but the average of the line on the graph is closer to 0.01 GPM, and the line never even approaches 0.06 GPM. I don't think the noise in the data is enough to cause this much of a disconnect.

This is happening across a range of scripts that do similar things; in cases where the range of flow rates is higher, the y-axis labels even appear nonlinear, with varying distances between tick marks (but not quite exponential or power-based). An example of this kind of scale, and the y-axis settings, are attached. 

Here is my graphing script:

build_graph = dt << Graph Builder(
Show Control Panel( 0 ),
Automatic Recalc( 0 ),
Variables( X( :Timestamp ), Y( :flow rate ) ),
Elements( Smoother( X, Y, Legend( 5 ) ) ),
SendToReport(
Dispatch(
{},
"Timestamp",
ScaleBox,
{Format( "m/y", 7 ), Min( 3611779200 ), Max( 3613248000 ),
Interval( "Week" ), Inc( 0.142857142857143 ), Minor Ticks( 0 )}
),
Dispatch(
{},
"flow rate",
ScaleBox,
{Min( -0.5 ), Max( 153.5 ), Inc( 10 ), Minor Ticks( 0 ),
Show Major Grid( 1 ), Show Minor Grid( 1 )}
)
)
)