BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
aj_p
New Contributor

GLM

I am new to JMP, but very interested to use it for my data analysis. I have a data set: 8 treatment groups, each group have 12 to 14 flies, each fly was provided with 4 different fruits together (4 choice)  for oviposition. Oviposition counts on each fruit out of total number of oviposition per fly is the final data. I am studying the effect of host fruits and treatments on the oviposition, and how treatments alter host preference?. As it is a count data I am not happy with ANOVA. I decided to use GLM. Should I use nest at any point here?

0 Kudos
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: GLM

It sounds like you crossed 8 treatments with 4 fruits. (Are the treatments from one factor with 8 levels, two factors, or three factors?) I assume that your choice for a GLM model is Poisson distribution with the canonical log link function, right? Why do you think that treatment and fruit are nested?

Learn it once, use it forever!
3 REPLIES 3

It sounds like you crossed 8 treatments with 4 fruits. (Are the treatments from one factor with 8 levels, two factors, or three factors?) I assume that your choice for a GLM model is Poisson distribution with the canonical log link function, right? Why do you think that treatment and fruit are nested?

aj_p
New Contributor

Thanks lot for the response. In my case the treatments are different
bacterial treatments but no levels inside.
I have arranged the data in 3 columns C1: Treatment, C2: Fruit, C3:
Oviposition count. Count in every four rows are from the same fly of a
particular treatment. Moreover, I want to include the total count of each
fly also into the analysis. So I get confused with nesting. Sorry. Please
suggest me a better way to structure my data for the GLM.
0 Kudos