Our World Statistics Day conversations have been a great reminder of how much statistics can inform our lives. Do you have an example of how statistics has made a difference in your life? Share your story with the Community!
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Highlighted
shaneline
Level II

Documenting my work flow

I am a new JMP user.   I am a scientist who is analyzing data that I am retrieving from several sources and using JMP, along with other tools, to explore the compiled data.    I have some experience in data management, data analysis and statistic but no formal training in these fields.  I am looking for suggestions on how others record (document) their workflow when using JMP as one of the tools in their work stream.

Have you found either JMP journal or notebook to be adaptable to this need?  Is something like Juypter, even though I am not coding, a better solution?  Any suggestions are appreciated!!

4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted
P_Bartell
Level VI

Re: Documenting my work flow

There are several workflow documentation tools and methods in JMP. Three that come immediately to mind are JSL (JMP Scripting Language), JMP journals, and JMP projects. One of the really cool capabilities in JMP is that whenever you do just about anything, JMP is writing the corresponding JSL commands and remembering them in flow as you execute the JMP session. So many JMP users at the end of a workflow worth saving, save the corresponding JSL code. This code can be shared with other JMP users or perhaps even as evidence of 'how you got the JMP answer'.

JMP journals are JMP specific file structures that can hold a variety of JMP and non JMP related elements such as JMP data tables, jpg files, links to web sites, etc. Many folks will save JMP scripts to JMP journals as a handy way of embedding JSL work within a larger context.