Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed

DOE analysis

bs1cad

Community Trekker

Oct 12, 2011

Hi All,

Im fairly new to JMP and im in the process of setting up a DOE to look at the effects of several ingriedients within a mixture on a specific response. Im only interested in the main effects and the two way interactions. Do I need to check all the assumptions of equal varaince and normal distributions before I fit the model? I generally do when perfoming one way and two way ANOVA, but is it necessary for a DOE?

Thanks

6 REPLIES
David_Burnham

Super User

Jul 13, 2011

In general DOE data is analysed using regression models.  The assumptions that you talk about are typically applicable to the residuals rather than the raw data, so in that sense you need to build the model first and then validate the assumptions.  This can be done by inspecting the residuals.  Bear in mind that with a DOE the quantities of data are usually small so it is sufficient to do this visually.

Dave

-Dave
bs1cad

Community Trekker

Oct 12, 2011

Thanks for this Dave. Im in the process of analysing my results. The response values from the DOE are not normally distributed, but when I screen my factors and build the model around the relevant ones, im saving the residuals of the reponse which when analysed, are normally distributed. Is this the correct way to go about validating the assumptions?

Cheers,

Chris

David_Burnham

Super User

Jul 13, 2011