BookmarkSubscribe
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Highlighted
mc
mc
New Contributor

DOE Response to Maximise Change Between "Negative" and "Positive" Categorical Variable

I'm new to jmp and I'm trying to optimise a biochemical assay. I have multiple categorical and continuous variables to try and optimise the buffer that I am using. Then I want to add the "target" as a variable (and so have a positive or negative for this variable). Without this "target" I want to minimise the response, with it I want to maximise the response (and overall I want to maximise the fold change).

Before I was doing this by generating the conditions without this "target" variable and then manipulating the experimental design by duplicating the runs and having an extra column. However, this becomes difficult when trying to analyse the data because I feel like I am losing information if I get the mean of the "negative" and subtract it from the mean of the "positive". I was hoping for some advice on how to specify the response that I want.

0 Kudos
3 REPLIES 3

Re: DOE Response to Maximise Change Between "Negative" and "Positive" Categorical Variable

I assume that you will run a standard curve for each of the treatments in the DOE. So, you will be able to fit a dose-response curve, such as a 4PLC. You could use more than one response. You could maximise the upper asymptote, minimize the lower asymptote. and then target the other parameters to get the dynamic range that you desire to achieve the sensitivity and specificity that you need.

Do you have a quantitative measurement for the response? Do you only have negative and positive status of samples?

I could be way off...

Learn it once, use it forever!
0 Kudos
mc
mc
New Contributor

Re: DOE Response to Maximise Change Between "Negative" and "Positive" Categorical Variable

Thank you @markbailey for the suggestions.