Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Highlighted
JoshE87
Level I

Curved Prediction Lines instead of Linear

I am very new to JMP, as this question will likely let you know. I designed a DoE in the hopes that I could predict the outcome of future experiments. After using "Fit Model" and basically keeping everything how it defaulted (Standard Least Squares and Effect Screening), I am seeing only straight lines when I go to the prediction section, as shown below. Reality.PNG

I know based on other experiments I've performed that some of these relationships should be curved lines (polynomial, logarithmic, exponential...what have you). I'd like to see these prediction lines looking more like the below  image from the JMP website:

expectation.PNGPlease let me know how to get better predictions from my data!  Thanks very much!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Re: Curved Prediction Lines instead of Linear

Well, yes, 3 levels does define a curve, but you have to consider the combinations of all of the variables. Look at this plot that shows all four variables together (a plot of B versus A for each combination of C and D). There is never a spot where you have three points in the same quadrant that would allow estimation of a quadratic.

Graph Builder.png

If you were to remove a factor, say D, you MIGHT be able to get some quadratic effects, but you would still not be able to estimate interactions.

Graph Builder2.png

Essentially, the Taguchi design that you are looking at is called a resolution III design. It is intended to fit main effects only, not even interactions between the factors. You ALWAYS need to choose the design that will meet the objectives of the experimentation. If you want to estimate quadratic effects you will need a different design type.