Share your ideas for the JMP Scripting Unsession at Discovery Summit by September 17th. We hope to see you there!
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Highlighted
pgfan
Level II

Correlating Data sets with non-identical time stamps

I'm brand new to JMP. I'm sure my issue is quite common, but I didn't know the right terms to look for help.

I ran an experiment where the data was collected manually a random time points.

To better illustrate the type of data I have, I've made a sample table below. Let's say I see a problem with Result 2, so I want to see if there is a correlation between Result 2 and Result 1 and also between Result 2 and Result 3.

The numbers are completely made up, but you will see that, in general, the data is not gathered at the same time points (but sometimes they are). The data sets are not the same size.

TimeResult 1Result 2Result 3

01:00

02:005200  
03:145000  
04:005100  

05:23

06:005300  
07:525000  
01:15 12 
04:23 16 
06:00 22 
01:17  345
02:34  345
02:50  347
04:23  347
05:53  342
08:23  235

I've been able to convert the time into a date time because my data spans multiple days (not shown in example table). I don't know the best way to go about this. If my datasets were small, I would try and match Results 2 and 3 with the closest dataset of Result 1. Say, match 1:00 of Result 1 and 1:15 of Result 2 and 1:17 of Result 3.

But I have lots of data (a few thousand data points or so). I just need to get an overall sense of what correlates and what does not. I don't need to keep the data in it's original format and I don't need to agnoize over small differences (hence, ok to correlation 1:00 with 1:15 with 1:17). I just need be able to cycle through lots of different variables and determine... yes there is a correlation, or no there is not.

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
txnelson
Super User

Re: Correlating Data sets with non-identical time stamps