cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Submit your abstract to the call for content for Discovery Summit Americas by April 23. Selected abstracts will be presented at Discovery Summit, Oct. 21- 24.
Discovery is online this week, April 16 and 18. Join us for these exciting interactive sessions.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Austin_1au
Level I

Calculating a Pooled Kappa Coefficient in JMP Pro 13

Hi everyone,

I am a fourth year undergraduate student working on my honors thesis and I have run into an issue with calculating a pooled kappa statistic in JMP.

While I understand that Cohen's kappa is normally calculated between two raters who provide ratings in a 2x2 agreement table format, what I want to do is to calculate a measure of agreement between two groups of raters. The first group, highlighted here, provided ratings from a likert scale of 1-3 (0-3 for the last criteria) to 11 criteria "C Attn R, tCLOppR..." as indicated along the column headers. This scale corresponds to the frequency of a behavior, with 0=Unavailable, 1=not consistently used, 3=consistently used throughout the session.

Group 1Group 1

The second, different group of raters also provided their ratings for the same 11 non-dichotomous criteria on equivalent rating scales.
Group 2Group 2
There are 117 raters in both the first group and the second group of raters. It is simple enough to use the Fit Y by X platform to calculate 11 pairwise kappas and average them but I doubt that this is the proper procedure for determining the overall agreement between two groups of raters (in addition to multiple rating criteria/categories). I would appreciate any advice or suggestions in using JMP for this type of analysis.

Thank you!
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
jiancao
Staff

Re: Calculating a Pooled Kappa Coefficient in JMP Pro 13