cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
The Earth, the Climate, and You (2023-EU-30MP-1297)

David Meintrup, Professor, University of Applied Sciences Ingolstadt

Climate change is a reality. The Paris climate goal of limiting global warming to 1.5 degrees is barely achievable. The only remaining question is: what can we still do to keep the consequences reasonably limited? How many conferences have you flown to last year? How many times a month do you eat meat? Do you drive to work? All of these questions matter, but how much? In this talk, we will try to find a data-based answer to this question using JMP as enabling software, and we will show how each one of us can contribute to preventing climate catastrophe. I am a mathematician, not a climatologist, but we need to get involved—all of us. 

Thanks  for  tuning  into  my  talk.  My  name  is  David  Meintrup.  I'm  P rofessor  at   Ingolstadt  University  of  Applied  Science.   Today  I'm  going  to  talk  about  the  Earth,  the  climate  and  you.

Let's  start  with  a  warm  up  talking  about  the  climate,  no  pun  intended.  Please  consider  these  four  actions.  Imagine  you  would  keep  doing  these  for  one  year.  No  plastic  bags,  go  vegan,  drive  fuel- efficiently,  or  always  switch  off  stand  by  modes.  Can  you  order  them  by  the  amount  that  they  reduce  your  carbon  dioxide  footprint?  No?  Well,  don't  worry,  you're  in  good  company.