Choose Language Hide Translation Bar

Behind the Scenes: Software Development in JMP Live (2020-US-EPO-553)

Level: Intermediate

Aurora Tiffany-Davis, Senior Software Developer, SAS

Get a peek behind the scenes to see how we develop JMP Live software.

Developing software is a lot more than just sitting down at a keyboard and writing code.  See what tools and processes we use before, during and after the "write code" part of our job.

Find out how we:

• Understand what is wanted.
  • Define what success looks like.
  • Write the code.
  • Find problems (so that our customers don't have to).
  • Maintain the software.

Auto-generated transcript...

Speaker

Transcript

Aurora Tiffany-Davis Hi I'm Aurora Tiffany-Davis. I'm a software developer on the JMP Live team. And I'd like to talk to you today about how we develop software on the JMP Live team.
First, I'd like you to imagine what creating software looks like. If you're not a developer yourself, then the image you have in your mind is probably colored by TV and movies that you've seen.
You might be imagining somebody who works alone, somebody who's really smart, maybe even a genius and their process is really simple.
They think about a problem, they write some code, and then they make sure that it works. And it probably does, because after all, they're a genius.
If we were all geniuses in JMP Live, then this simple process would work for us. But we're not and we live in the real world. So we need a little bit more than that.
First of all, we don't work alone, we work very collaboratively and our process has steps in it to try to ensure that we produce not just some software but quality software.
I'll point out that there's no one correct way to develop software. It might differ across companies or even within companies, but I'm going to walk you through our process
by telling you what I would do if I was going to develop a new feature in JMP Live.