Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed

Deleting posts (was: Alternate Alignment)

David_Burnham

Super User

Joined:

Jul 13, 2011

 

 

 

-Dave
3 REPLIES
David_Burnham

Super User

Joined:

Jul 13, 2011

I made a mistake with this post (the attached image was incorrect - I didn't find an option to delete the post - so I deleted the body text and the attachment!
-Dave
Jeff_Perkinson

Community Manager

Joined:

Jun 23, 2011

So, deleting your own post is a permission that we can grant. Right now it's off for everybody.

 

Do you think that should be a privilege that you earn through participation in the Community or should it be on by default for everyone?

 

-Jeff
David_Burnham

Super User

Joined:

Jul 13, 2011

I have seen some systems where there is like a 5 minute grace period, and in that time you able to delete it.

My feeling is that you want to delete a post because you made a mistake in it, and it's easier to start again than to edit it, or in the heat of the moment you wrote something that you regret. Either way, I'm not sure what benefit there would be of having to earn the privilege. All you do is embarrass people by leaving them with a public post that they regret.

If you want a reward approach, then maybe apply it the the ability to give Kudos to a post?
-Dave